Everyday is a lazy day

Day +18
K+ 3.7
Mag 1.4
WBC 0.6
HGB 8.2
Plts 29

Is it possible that I’m getting better? The doctors say that I am. The nurses say that I’m doing great. But I don’t feel it yet. The doctors say that my counts are taking longer than expected to graft but he’s not concerned. He says it always grafts. They are looking at neutrophil count now. On Thursday it was 0 , on Friday it was 250 and today it was 270. Very promising! I’m still so tired. I made myself get up at around 2:00 pm to take a shower and I sat in my chair for a couple hours until I was falling asleep and I climbed back into my bed where I have been until now. Actually getting dressed took until I was back in bed. Its so much work to do basic tasks. Now that my mouth sores are mostly gone the docs and nurses are back to giving me the food lectures. The nurses have just played their nightly game of “What can we get Lauren to eat?” This game ended with an agreement to eat cottage cheese and a Gatorade. The nurse that came up with that idea ran cheering down the halls.

My abscess is doing better. It’s not gone. I might have to do surgery after my counts have improved. The head doctor is thinking about sending in a surgeon now. He says that sometimes surgery has to be done even with low counts. I’m off of narcotic medication and most of the hallucinations have stopped too. I think the staff was entertained with my hallucinations. I heard church bells one time when two nurses were in. They look at me curiously but didn’t restrict me. The thing that got me restrictions was a middle of the night incident. My IV pole fell over and was laying on the ground. I didn’t wake up. Several nurses came in and asked me what happened. I said I didn’t know but I might have been the cat. I got put back on bed alarm.

It has been relatively uneventful around here. Jeffrey is sick and home with sick kids so I have been alone a lot. Several other regular visitors have been home with coughs too. It sucks that I have no white blood cells in winter and a terrible flu season. It’s okay, I’m not quite up to visitors other than ones who can just watch me sleep.

I hope I get some hair in before this style is completely dated. We are doing this haircut!

20130202-225254.jpg

Posted on February 2, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Lauren, this is Vicki’s mom Jill. I have been thinking about everyday and so sorry for all of stuff you have been going thru. You are on your way to getting better and I am so glad to hear the good news. I hope soon you can go home and be with your family.

  2. Hi Lauren, I’m friends with Jeff via twitter. I have been following his updates & just found your blog. I just wanted to let you know that I think you are an amazing woman, strong, beautiful, & very funny! I think that haircut would look awesome on you πŸ™‚ I know we are complete strangers but I just wanted to let you know that I keep you & Jeff & your family in my thoughts and for your recovery! πŸ™‚

  3. You are hilarious πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

