I Know You Want To Register

I’ve been getting some questions and hearing some confusion on the marrow registry for marrow.org. This is the national registry for those willing to share stem cells or bone marrow to save a life. Not to be too dramatic but it really can give a person a chance to have their blood cancer cured. I have my chance coming up thanks to an anonymous donor.

I completely understand the hesitation to register. A couple years ago I heard about the opportunity to register but I didn’t research or really consider it because I thought it would be too much for me to do for a stranger. For me I didn’t know what it involved and I didn’t take the time to find out.

I was thinking about a blog post to explain the process but I read an article on CNN that tells it from the perspective of a donor. All it takes is a cheek swab to register and most donors give stem cells via an apheresis donation.

Read

Why I donated my bone marrow

20121226-000434.jpg

My Christmas present from Jeffrey. Infinity bracelets to go with the leukemia bracelets that he always wears.

Posted on December 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Lauren – you are absolutely right. It takes little to no effort to register. I registered back in summer. I hope you and your family had a great Christmas. Take care and you all are always in our thoughts and prayers.

  2. What a great article! Thanks for sharing- I intend to pass it on.

Leave a Reply

