Reiki

I am scheduled for my second Reiki appointment this afternoon. I’ll be honest. I don’t know how I feel about Reiki. I am a skeptic about most things but especially psuedoscience and spiritual things. I tried it from a recommendation from a friend and had a positive experience. I can’t say that I felt any energy transference but Im not ready to discount it yet.

For those not familiar with this practice (and I hope I get this right) Reiki is the ancient practice of “healing hands” Beyond that I have to go to wikipedia. It has to do with energy and healing. It seems to be popular with nurses and involves a spiritual element that I don’t quite grasp. There is no massage involved they just place their hands on various points on the body while I lay in a meditative state.

As skeptical as I am I found that after my last appointment my almost constant head and neck pain were gone and the debilitating fatigue I had been experiencing was significantly lessened. I went from not being able to get out of bed and requiring several naps a day to being able to stay alert and active all day. Maybe it’s the meditation, maybe it’s the counseling session provided afterward but placebo effect or not it was worth it. One of the practitioners said that she located fear in my abdomen. I have definitely been struggling with fear lately but it isn’t a stretch to imagine that a person in my condition has some fear. The intention of the session was finding strength to continue working toward wellness.

I scheduled this second session because I have been feeling negative lately and some positive energy and empowerment will be necessary. This is a long, long fight and I’m already dragging. The chemo I got last week left me exhausted and nauseous all the time. I’m back to eating my chemo foods of plain rice with butter and mayo sandwiches. Gross, I know, but my tastes have changed and while ice cream and chocolate turn my stomach things like saltines and american cheese are yummo!

20120815-125437.jpg

Posted on August 15, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. My dad did this during Chemo, he was also a skeptic. His theory you do what you need to do to make the day to day stuff tolerable. Even if it is garbage if you walk away feeling better that is all that matters.

  2. Amy, who was our math coach, has done reiki for years.I wouldnt discount “alternative therapy”. If you felt better after, then it worked for you.

  3. ok, saltines and american cheese sound yummo to me. i don’t think there is anything wrong with you. or maybe there is just something wrong with me. ❤

Leave a Reply

