Be The One Run

Saturday morning we got to downtown Columbus by 8:30 am for the Be The One Run to benefit the Be The Match foundation that coordinates bone marrow donors and transplants for patients. Jeffrey found the parking garage and put me in the wheelchair. I had no idea that the wheelchair he borrowed from work was teal green and I was wearing a teal green dress. What kind of crazy person matches her dress to her wheelchair? I also wore a big floppy hat that looked out of place until the sun came out from behind the clouds. Some of our group parked with us and we walked (wheeled) the city streets to the race registration. It’s slightly horrifying to be at a leukemia/lymphoma event in a wheelchair and wearing a mask. I tried to avoid eye contact with people because I didn’t want to see the sympathy or encouraging smiles on their faces. We have not been to Bicentennial Park yet and it is beautiful. The race organizers recognized us from the website and gave instructions for when Xander and Amira would be announcing the start of the race. The kids ran around while we waited. In all our team had 16 members. Some of Amira’s friends from dance and her BFF ran the tot trot with her. Xander had a friend from school and 4H join him in the 1K and a few of my dearest friends did the 5K with Jeffrey.

Our team, named Breaking Blood, raised a total of $1,125 and finished the race with 3 1st place finishes. This was Jeffrey’s first race in the Master’s category and he somehow managed to pull in a a 1st place finish in his age category even though he hasn’t trained in months. We also had the 1st place for 12 and under and age 13-19 on our team. Our speedy young 14 year old placed 7th overall.

It felt great to be outside and this was my first public appearance (other than the hospital) since before diagnosis. I can go out if I have the strength and if I wear a mask but I haven’t really had time or felt up to it yet. I had energy and felt good all day yesterday and today I rested. The race photographer has published a preview of pics that I plan on ordering as soon as they are available. Photo credits to Yarrington Studio

Look at that cute couple!

Jeffrey, Tanya and Victoria checking out their wildly disputed chip times.

Some of the Breaking Bad team

 

Amira and Addisyn running up the hill.

.

Posted on July 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

