Chemo day

We got to The James this morning at 9:30. The waiting room was full of people just like me. Sick people with masks and wristbands. I think we should make the well people all wear masks and let us get oxygen. It’s hard to breathe with those things on. We are on the same floor that we visited to watch fireworks. The view of downtown is great. This is my day: Bloodwork, wait, nurse, wait, nurse practitioner, wait, Wendy’s for lunch, wait, Doctor, wait, switch rooms, wait, LP and chemo, lay flat for 1 hour.

Dr. Vasu is really smart. She talked to us for a long time and gave some answers to a lot of questions and some information that we hadn’t even thought about. She gave us homework to read about bone marrow transplant. I know we’ve talked about it but I haven’t researched what all is involved and what the risks are. The team of doctors has not decided if transplant is the best option for me. There are no statistics on my clinical trial chemo regimen vs transplant in adults for long term survival. My risk factors are my age and my high white blood cell count at admission. But I responded well to chemo and had early remission. Chemo might be enough. Might.

While reading I accidentally read my statistic. I’m sure most of you have googled ALL and you all know my statistics but I didn’t want to know. I have not googled my disease. I have not googled my treatment. I’m not sure why the number bothers me. Statistics become meaningless after awhile. I had a .2% chance of getting breast cancer. I had a .7% chance of getting leukemia. I got both of them. In the same year. I had a math geek friend do some numbers for me. The odds of getting both in the same year are 18 in a Billion.

View of Downtown Cbus from 11 th floor James on a dreary day.

20120723-170849.jpg

My amazing husband working while taking care of me on chemo day. Someone should give him an award. I’m not being sarcastic. For real.

20120723-171028.jpg

Posted on July 23, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Lauren, you are so loved by that man and I know you feel the same way about him. So he will never not be there for you believe it and visa verse. He and the kids are one very good reason you will kick that ever loving you know what out of this and leave it all behind you… Hugs from the Obs.

  2. You are so right – there should be an award ceremony for the caregivers. Why hasn’t anyone ever thought of that before? (or maybe they have?) I suspect many of us feel that our husbands/wives are heroes, and should be honoured as such.

    Catherine
    http://www.facingcancer.ca

Leave a Reply

