Quick update

My heart is still not doing well. My heart rate continues into the 170s when standing. EKG was normal, x-ray was normal so now I’m being sent to the Ross hospital for chest CT with contrast to look for a pulmonary embolism. The doctors really have no idea what is wrong so they are ruling things out. I’d like to be able to go for walks again and shower alone.

Docs say the chemo is working but we need to figure out the heart things. We also got word today that my central nervous system is apparently frees from leukemia cells. If this conintues to hold true then I won’t have to have chemo injected into my spinal fluid again and I may be able to skip the cranial radiation.

My rough day started yesterday after noon with the lumbar puncture. They procedure itself way fine but I ended up with a massive headache that radiated down my shoulders and back. I also was getting dizzy when standing and vomiting. So, back to more bed rest. Its okay though because I’m too tired for anything else. The nausea medicine makes me sleepy. The headache medicine make me nauseous so I end up in a big cycle of trying to manage symptoms. I’ve been sleeping most of the day. My eyes can’t focus on books week right so they called in a ophthalmologist. There is nobleeding behind retina so the problem s focusing is more likely to be dilated eyes to to another med.

This is not my lowest point after the chemo. I still have another week before that hits so I’m hoping for a few better days before it really hits.

Yesterday we did the big haircut. Several people have joined me I shaving their heads and that means a lot to me. I have packaged my hair up to be sent to Florida and I will son have a hairpiece with my own hair.

I want to send a special thank you to those who donated money for the wig fund and also a huge thank you to those of you who have watched our kids for up while we are at the hospital.

Here are a couple of my buddies with their shaved heads. 😉 more later

20120628-202414.jpg

Posted on June 28, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

