New boobies!

It’s the day after surgery and I’m feeling pretty good! I have some pain and soreness but nothing like the mastectomy. I have no nausea and the pain pills keep the pain at a manageable level. I’m actually considering making a quiche for Christmas Eve dinner but Jeffrey said to just sit still.

I have felt like I’ve been coming down with a cold for a couple days and I woke up yesterday morning with a full-blown sore throat and cough. We decided to go in anyway instead of rescheduling surgery.

We got to the surgery center at 8:05 in perfect timing to do health history paperwork and register even though I pre-registered and did a pre-admission health physical. The waiting around is hard because I get nervous. I was called back quickly to the presurgery area where I stripped down to socks and a gown. They gave me some disposable undies because the docs get a little crazy with the iodine. The nurse reassured how much more comfortable I will be once I get the tissue expanders out. This surgery center has a heat lamp in the ceiling and warm blankets and they try to make it as comfortable as possible. The head anesthesiologist came in next and I gave him my list of meds from the last surgery and he decided to tweak some things so I wouldn’t wake up in pain with nausea.  He did check my throat and lungs since I had the cough and sore throat but since there was no fever we were going ahead with the surgery. I got the patch and a celebrex presurgery and he told me he’d use as little gas as possible. The one problem we had was IV pain meds. I have an allergy to dilaudid so I usually get morphine. Well, it turns out that there is a shortage of morphine and they had none so I got zero IV pain meds. I was given oral Percocet before and after since I tolerate those well. In fact, I’m eating them like candy these days. Good stuff! The anesthesiologist asked me if I’d like a glass of wine for my anxiety. I said yes please. It was really just a shot of Xanax but it did the trick. At this center you have to walk into your own OR and lay down in the bed under the lights. It’s very unsettling so the Xanax helps. The nurse went to get Jeffrey but she accidentally brought in the wrong husband. This dude came in grinning but then was like, “wait, that’s not my wife!” haha. His wife was right next to me so we had some laughs about switching husbands. She was getting wrist surgery and was jealous of my breast surgery until I told her it was because of cancer. Dr. Treece came in to mark me before surgery and answer questions. He said he would move the implants closer together and give me the best look possible with as little risk.

I woke up what seems like a few minutes later with a sore chest but no nausea. I was offered IV pain meds but I took percocet instead so I wouldn’t risk getting sick. I decided I’d rather deal with pain than throwing up. After my last bag of IV fluids we got to go home.

I took a nap and then the kids came in to see me. Amira asked right away to see my new surgery boobs. She oohed and aahed and said they look nice. She asked, “did the doctor draw on them to make them look cute? How does your doctor know that your favorite color is purple?” So funny.  Xander just said hi and went back to his game.

I’m feeling well so far. I’m going to try to shower in a bit. We are having all of the family (up to 26 people) over tonight for Christmas eve but I’m not going to do any of the cooking or cleaning. I’m just going to wave from the recliner as people come in. For the first time this year I’m finally excited for Christmas!

Posted on December 24, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

