Feeling better

I’m two and a half weeks out from surgery and I’m finally starting to feel like I’m turning the corner. The pain is manageable with just two advil at a time during the day although the afternoons are the hardest with the activity from kids getting home from school with backpacks and wanting snacks and all sorts of demands that children make. I’m able to do my arm exercises without cringing too much. Except for the shoulder abduction exercise. I can’t do that one. Hold your arms out to the side. Leading with your thumb, raise your arm up sideways towards your head. Yeah, I can’t do it. I can’t raise my arms more than an inch. I’ll keep practicing but I may need physical therapy. I’m not sure how long until I’m supposed to be able to do this.

I feel like driving somewhere today. I would love to drive to the outlets and go to a couple stores but I know that is probably too ambitious. I have a sense of urgency because tomorrow is my 3rd surgery and I’m going to be grounded again but I have to remind myself that there will always be time for shopping. Although some retail therapy today would probably do me some good. I’m thinking I will drive to the park and walk around the track for exercise. That’s probably about all I can do.

Tomorrow is unilateral oophorectomy and tubal ligation on the opposite side. Doctor said a few days for recovery but friends with experience have said it’s longer than that. We’ll see.

Oh, I added a hilarious picture that I found online of the breast reconstruction process. I feel like how this poor woman looks and it made me laugh.

Posted on September 1, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

