Strange pains and social outings

The seroma is collecting more fluid but not at a ridiculous rate since I’ve been applying compression. I speculate that activity increases the fluid that collects but I don’t know if that is true or not. I’ll ask the PS tomorrow when he drains it. My FIL is driving me to the appointment so Jeffrey can work. It’s not like he would be able to hold my hand for this procedure. He’d probably just be cowering in the corner trying not to get light headed.

I’m having some interesting pains in the middle of my shoulder blades on my upper back. It a very sore spot that gets worse with pressure and it’s on the same place on each side. They are spots that are about the size of a thumb. I was thinking it was just muscular because of how I was sleeping but since I’ve been sleeping in bed with better posture the sore spots haven’t gone away. I Dr. Googled it and there are some anecdotal reports and a few symptom checklists that discuss nerve pain that can occur in the shoulders and underarms after mastectomy. I’m wondering if it’s nerve endings that were affected by the surgery. I wish I knew more about anatomy and physiology but my knowledge in this area is limited to the face and neck. I would consider going for a massage but then I would have to explain that I just had surgery so she could be sensitive of the area and then I’d have to listen to her talk about her aunt/grandmother/mom who had breast cancer so she knows exactly what I’m going through. I just don’t have the energy for that.

I enjoyed my first social outing last night attending a friend’s graduation party. I went with the flat chested look since the foam pads look silly. I’m considering getting some silicone inserts to help with the transition during plastic surgery but to be honest, I don’t care all that much. I think cancer has made me less vain. For work it might be good though. Since no one knows me I don’t want to start work with no breasts and have them strangely grow to a full C cup by the end of winter break. That might be weird.

This week I hope to have some energy and feel okay enough to accomplish a few things. My next surgery is Friday so I know that I won’t feel good for long. I’m just hoping this surgery will be an easy recovery. It probably will be considering what I’ve gone through the last couple weeks. Friday is the left side oophorectomy and right side tubal ligation. He said the tubal will only add a few minutes to surgery so we’re going to go ahead and do it. I have been having wacky periods and I have a fear that this won’t fix that problem and I’ll have to go in for another surgery. But considering all I’ve been through I’d probably just deal with it rather than do another procedure.

Posted on August 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

